Homemade Tortilla Pizza

Recently I’ve made the decision that I am going to try and eat more healthy. I’ve realised I spend way too much money buying take out food and can cook alternative meals inspired by take out food at home for much less money. Theres also something about not being able to fit into any of my summer clothes from last year and having to spend money buying new ones this year that’s part of it as well.

I was reading a fellow creative blogger’s blog – Polly (you should check out her shop here and designs – so damn cool and so in love with them pins) about the healthy food that she had been eating in a week and was so inspired by the tortilla pizza idea. Believe me when I say its the quickest meal, thats healthy that I’ve ever made. I thought I’d share with you guys how I made the pizza my own and what toppings I used on here. You can change the veg up how you like it.

Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 11.53.11

You will need:

2 tortilla wraps, I used wholegrain ones as they taste gooood 

Low fat cream cheese

Tomato puree

Handful of spinach 

Handful of red onion

Cherry tomatoes

Mozzarella 

Paprika

Chilli Flakes

Jalepeno Peppers

(& I was naughty first time and used cheddar grated as well, got to love cheeeeeese)

How I made it

I heated the oven to around 170 degrees and placed my tomatoes, which I chopped tiny before hand on the tray and put them in the oven for around 10 minutes to roast. You could put them in longer I’m sure or not put them in at all, just chop them up and lay them on the pizza.

Whilst my tomatoes were  doing their thing I lay a tortilla wrap on a plate, grabbed a knife and spread the low fat soft cheese over it. I didn’t use a lot as I just wanted the two tortilla wraps to stick together better. I felt like one would be too thin, but there again you can change that how you like.

I then layered the second tortilla on top and spread enough tomato puree on.

I grabbed a hand full of spinach, washed it, then ripped it up and spread over the pizza.

I added a hand full of chopped red onion.

I then cut two slices of mozzerella and cut them into small pieces and placed them on the pizza.

I took out the cherry tomatoes and places them around the pizza and then grated enough cheese on top to make it look, more like a pizza.

I then added a couple of jalepeno peppers to the top  – spicy.

I added a good sprinkling of chilli flakes and paprika – again its all down to your own taste and placed in the oven. 

My oven is quite powerful and a fan oven so I only put mine in for around 5-7 minutes. I wait until around the edges are crispy. 

There you have it, the most gorgeous tasting tortilla pizza made at home. I genuinely think it tastes better than a take out pizza. It uses up any fresh veg you have and you could also shake it up by rolling it into a wrap as a lunch time meal.

Let me know if you enjoyed this post and if you’d like more like it. Thanks again to Polly for inspiring me to make this in the first place. Yay for pizza!

Leave a Reply

