Trich VS anxiety and goals

If you didn’t already know, one of the underlying issues of my Trichotillomania (Trich for short) is anxiety. I’ve suffered anxiety for as long as I can remember. I genuinely blame those people who shot down my confidence at school. They are the ones responsible for me barely having confidence at all. I work on this daily and it’s still an ongoing battle, but with good people and friends surrounding it makes it a whole lot easier.

I feel that every time I am anxious my arm automatically reaches up and thats it, just pulls.  I don’t even have to think about it. It automatically does it. Sometimes I don’t even notice I’m doing it either, until someone turns round and says. It’s a coping mechanism. It’s what helps, but whilst it helps with feeling anxious, its also destroying my self esteem at the same time. It’s literally the biggest circle to go round. There are bad days, where I couldn’t care about the half broken hairs/bald parts… but of course there are good days where I want to be able to feel ‘pretty’ and I feel like my hair holds me back from this.

I like to set myself realistic goals to achieve milestones with recovery. I remember my first goal was to admit to myself, there was a problem and to get help. Getting help was probably the most scariest/daunting time but once it was done I felt so much more relief. I’ve wrote a post on this here if you’d like to check it out. I’m not sure if that’s because there will be someone with professional help to help me or the fact that I took that leap. Every time I reach a goal stone (just as important as a milestone) I treat myself. Whether that be something that I’ve had my eye on for a while or a takeaway. Who doesn’t love a celebratory takeaway?

Here’s two goals that in the upcoming months I really, really… basically praying I will reach. These goals will help keep me focused towards positivity and will keep my mind on track. On track to achieve steps without falling backwards. If I do fall backwards, thats OK too… as long as I keep going along the positive path.

  • Pull free for one day. Hell lets make that half a day and if I get to a full day then that definitely means double celebratory.
  • Set up some sort of fundraising event for Trichotillomania. My goal about writing all these things down in a post is to make more awareness. I’d love to physically hold an event where I can raise money to a Trich charity.

Screen Shot 2016-07-03 at 18.03.00

Instagram (@Mentalhealthdaily_) I adore this account!

What goals do you guys have and are working towards? I’d love to here them. You can do it!

One thought on “Trich VS anxiety and goals

  1. I hope you reach those goals! I look forward to seeing another post soon where you say you’ve achieved them & I also would love to hear what your treats were from that!
    You’ve got such a positive mind to have those goals, knowing that they’ll keep you up beat and you should be very proud of that!

    Sarah xo // See The Stars

    Like

Leave a Reply

